Zeitbites: Being of sound mind and body (and NOT) . . .

For reasons too involved for a Zeitbites post, I’ve been working on a new will. Understand, dear ones, for me, “working” means reading wills other people have written, getting lost down the rabbit-hole of the web’s treasure trove of crazy will stories, and scribbling notes about fictions I’d like to make. There has been very little actual progress on a new will. Oh well – or – oh will – the few stabs I have made at the document all begin with “Being of sound mind and body” – which made me laugh. What EXACTLY constitutes sound mind and body and who gets to decide?

On many levels – thanks to my 87-year-old mom needing to move from one senior living place to another and my physician suggesting I’m pre-diabetic and should be taking statins, as well as my three months of dieting and having lost thirty pounds – I’ve been obsessing on soundness of mind and body and, well, here’s where I have been going . . .

BUT BEFORE I GET ALL GROUCHY – AND PLEASE SEE NOTE* AT FINISH OF POST – ONE OF MY DEAR ONES SENT ME THIS YOUTUBE – YOU MUST WATCH IT. I DEFY YOU NOT TO WEEP. IT IS SO FULL OF THE LOVE & LIGHT WE MIGHT ALL SHARE IF ONLY WE TRIED TO REMEMBER WHERE WE CONNECT INSTEAD OF WHERE WE SEPARATE . . . WATCH!

Isn’t that beautiful? Okay, back to being grouchy —

I’ve started Tweeting with hashtags #Curmudgeon and #GymTales because my life seems to consist of being annoyed by people; their behavior, their culture, their interpretation of the Zeitgeist. Then, in response to these assaults on my peace of mind, I head to the gym where I try to relieve my stress (and lose ten more pounds) by spending hours on the elliptical and weight-machine-circuits. Sometimes someone says something nice to me in the sauna, or, even better, someone does something nice in the sauna or shower – you know, like sing?

This is all well and good but then I have to deal with OTHER PEOPLE. Here it is, not yet 8a.m., and already my nerves are being tested.

ELDER ABUSE IN PUBLISHING – go set a . . . moral lowbar . . .

First of all, the New York Times – again. Enough with these endless damn articles about the just-published first-failed-draft of a book stolen from an eighty-something woman who long ago – when of sound mind and body – and in all the fifty years since – DECLINED to publish the manuscripts now claimed to have been “found” by a caretaker-type. This whole thing is – at the very least – skeezy and, in my opinion, ELDER ABUSE! That the ENTIRE book section headline scroll on the on-line version front page is about this book – it is pissing me off.

THE MEDICAL-INDUSTRIAL COMPLEX – let me prescribe a great big FUCK YOU!

Second of all, the New York Times – again again. I’m not going to link their stupid article about stupid studies saying more ever more even more people should take stupid statins. Instead, I am again reiterating my stance that a medical industry which busily spends its time and resources trying to convince us all we are less than normal and require pricey drugs, pricey regular testing and office visits, and pricey this and that supplied by the medical-industrial complex is a structure of which we ought all be more than a little suspicious. If more than half of the adults in the country “require” statins (and psychotropic drugs and erectile dysfunction drugs and on and on and on) to achieve the medical-industrial complex’s notion of what is “normal” and of sound mind and body, then it seems patently clear to me a re-definition is in order. I’M NOT TAKING ANY DRUGS. I’m happy, my blood pressure is fine, and I’m sure if I ever have sex again I can get this thing to work.

AND BACK TO THAT DAMN BOOK AGAIN . . . but shut up about it, you!

I’m as irritated with the people on Twitter (and everywhere else) talking about this book as I am with Whoopi Goldberg and her defense of the serial rapist. This book is the same sort of taking advantage of someone who has less information and power as is the medical industrial complex scaring everyone into taking drugs they probably don’t need and the way men in power get away with everything from rudeness all the way to rape and murder without ever answering for their crimes. IF SHE’D WANTED THE MANUSCRIPT PUBLISHED, SHE HAD 50 YEARS WHEN SHE WAS OF SOUND MIND AND BODY TO DO IT!

POLITICAL CANDIDATES . . . too much SOUND, too little MIND, forget about other people’s BODIES . . .

The things these candidates say . . .  I can’t. I just can’t. And they are encouraged by the coverage, which skews toward the outrageous, which only ramps up their crazy and on it goes. So much noise. So much crazy and hate. So much obsession over what people do with their own bodies and hearts – as if my birth control methods, who I love, what gender I am, is ANY of ANYONE else’s business. And, honestly, to live in a country where that racist, bigot, blowhard comb-over can lead the polls of a major political party – EXCUSE ME WHILE I RUN TO THE NEAREST ELLIPTICAL TO RECOVER FROM THIS AND MAINTAIN MY SOUND (sort of) MIND AND BODY.

Love and Light, dear ones . . .until the next time . . .

*NOTE: I’m only a curmudgeon because, for some reason, despite decades of evidence to the contrary, I really and truly do believe there is – at everyone’s core – Love & Light; a goodness and beauty that cannot be eradicated. There is always hope (says he, who would be perfectly content to die this moment – but that’s peace, not sorrow. Well, not all sorrow.)

Leave a Reply

