READING: Will Chancellor’s “A BRAVE MAN SEVEN STOREYS TALL”

A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall, by Will Chancellor, HarperCollins Publishers, 379pp

A Brave Man

I have been working on this appreciation of Will Chancellor’s debut novel, A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall, since I finished the book almost a month ago but despite multiple attempts I have been unable to compose an encomium worthy of his work. Each return to my scribbles ended in frustrated disgust with my inadequacies as literary analyst as paragraph after paragraph contained – in essence – variations of; “I love this book so much and I can’t explain it and you just have to read it.” Which would then be followed by something like, “And Will Chancellor is so beautiful and he followed me on Twitter and he’s really smart and funny and nice too. And, yeah, really beautiful.”

 

So, listen, here’s what the publisher says:

About the Book

Leave a Reply

