#PattiLuPone HAPPY FUCKING BIRTHDAY!

It’s Patti LuPone’s birthday. If this country had ANY culture at all, this would be a national fucking holiday. Make it SO!

Here is the OFFICIAL WEBSITE OF PATTI LUPONE.

I have twice seen Miss LuPone in concert, both times with my sister, Debbie. Most recently as a gift from my dear friend, Andrea. I was first row, center. Miss LuPone smiled at me. Debbie and Andrea, great gifts in my life.

Here is that famous moment from Will and Grace:

Here is Ladies Who Lunch from Stephen Sondheim’s Company:

I went to Bethesda to see the Company filmed concert with my dear Cody, during one of the worst summers of my life, he stuck by me and never made me feel like my sorrow was a burden to him. We wept through this. And I was a burden. And he still has never complained about it. Love him. Great gift in my life.

I saw her in Sweeney Todd on Broadway. Third row. Aisle. A-fucking-mazing.

I first saw Sweeney Todd, decades earlier, on Broadway, starring Angela Lansbury. My dear aunt, Sissie, took me. And years later I starred in a summer stock production as Sweeney, across from my dear, dear Kayte as Mrs. Lovett, and directed by my dear friend and the best director I ever had, who always made me good, my love, Josh. Sissie, Kayte, Josh, great gifts in my life.

I also saw Miss LuPone in her final concert performance of Gypsy – a show I had also, coincidentally, seen decades earlier with Sissie and starring Angela Lansbury. The final concert performance also happened to be on the same day as the final performance of Grey Gardens on Broadway. Both, in one day, great gifts in my life.

But it was The Baker’s Wife that first brought Miss LuPone to my attention. That album . . . it changed my life. Here she is doing Meadowlark from that show in a cabaret act after having just played the killer vocal role of Evita. Yep. Same night. Holy shit. WHAT A GIFT MISS LUPONE HAS BEEN TO MY LIFE.

I needed Patti LuPone’s birthday today, because this has not been a particularly wonderful past few days, weeks even, and I have been having one of those bursting into stupid tears sort of days, so, thank you Patti LuPone. Here’s more of that Will and Grace clip, extended. GENIUS.

I love our brassy, magnificent trap.

And here is one of my favorites of yours:

And then, oh holy shit . . . this . . . double diva divine heaven . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “#PattiLuPone HAPPY FUCKING BIRTHDAY!

  1. Pingback: My #ClinicalDepression: I am not now and never will be #PaulBowles | herewearegoing

Leave a Reply

