Hate is NOT a family value (Unless you’re MORMON or in the NFL)

If you’re wondering what homophobia looks like, let me help you. This is one version:

God Hates Fags

But it’s not REALLY the one that worries me the most. Check these out, and these are just two of the dozens I saw this week.

Greg Ellis, Homophobe and Sexist

Greg Ellis, Homophobe and Sexist

Greg Ellis, who was once a Dallas Cowboy, did an interview with ESPN in which he voiced his concern about showering with gay men. (CLICK HERE to read on Towelroad about the interview.) My favorite movement in the moron symphony – though, granted, he approaches Mozart levels of genius when it comes to being a bigoted idiot – was the following (Bolding and emphasis mine):

People who’ve never been in an NFL shower room, not just locker room, it’s a open room. We don’t have private curtains. It’s just an open-form shower, so everybody sees each in the nude. Well if you’re looking at men as if you’re looking at women or vice versa, how are those guys to receive that? I don’t know. I don’t know how they will receive that. But I do know it would be a situation where I would go to the coach and try to work something out to say, ‘Obviously this is going to be a problem. What can we do? The kid can help us play, can help us win football games. We need him on the team. But this situation right here, we need to do something.

Yes, well, and so, not only have you mindlessly allowed yourself to be inculcated with homophobic-hetero-normative-cultural-brainwashing, but you have also swallowed whole the presumptive-sexist-rape-culture is okay mind-fucking as well.

You are allowed – expected and assumed, even – to look at and ogle women in a sexual way, and that is okay and approved. But, if another male turns around and looks at you in that way, then, THERE IS A PROBLEM.

That this sort of “reporting” and hate-speech goes on and passes into the conversation WITHOUT ANYONE QUESTIONING THE UNDERLYING SOCIAL AND CULTURAL FLAWS IN THINKING  just makes me CRAZY!

This is what a bigot and homophobe looks like. Kathryn Skaggs

This is what a bigot and homophobe looks like. Kathryn Skaggs

And then there was the Mormon Grandmother who saw Disney’s Frozen as a front for the homo-genda.  Could be. I haven’t seen it. In fact, despite my having long ago been crowned as Musical Theatre Royalty, I haven’t even heard Idina Menzel singing Let It Go, about which everyone seems to have gone wild. I have, however, read this portion of the Grandmother’s screed:

Let me be very clear about one thing, I am not anti-gay nor am I here to judge homosexuals not worthy of their rightful and respectful place among society. However, I draw the line at the idea of redefining traditional marriage to include homosexual relationships, as equal. Meaning, that as a Christian, I believe that acting on same-sex attraction is contrary to God’s will, and therefore SSM should not be legalized. Because I hold this value and voice it freely, does not mean that I am trying to force it on anyone — anymore than those who feel opposite and advocate for their position intend to force SSM on me, personally — both have the right [to freely advocate an oppositional position] and should not be demonized, regardless of where society takes us, as a whole.

This is my favorite tactic of the supposedly god-loving religious bunch; this “my beliefs allow me to be a discriminatory bigot and god told me it was okay so it’s not hate and it’s a-ok for me to deny and denigrate and belittle you and you can’t do the same back to me, you have to respect the fact I’m an asshole” defense.

Here’s my answer: You’re not just a BIGOT and HATER, you’re an idiot and a hypocrite too. And you, Ma’am, in particular, are a disgrace to Grandparents everywhere. (And here, at Huffington Post, is a far more erudite response.)

But Kathryn Skaggs – the Mormon woman who wrote the original “Frozen is a homo-genda-ganda tool” post, is STILL going on about it in her bigoted hate-speech blog. Listen:

If you are seriously clueless as to what I’m talking about then it is imperative, particularly for morally minded parents, that you read this post and open your eyes to the homosexual agenda, and the principles advanced to promote it, that undergird Frozen, which is why it was written for Broadway and will indubitably be a hit – mark my words!

Really? Written for Broadway and will indubitably be a hit – mark her words? Oh. My. Holy. Fucking. Cray. Cray. AND THIS BLATHER IS WHY I CANNOT TOLERATE ORGANIZED RELIGION – because any organization that embraces bigots such as Ms. Skaggs – not only embraces, but encourages and girds and insists it is their right to promulgate such hate in the name of their god – is an organization that should not be afforded a voice, respect, any sort of attention, OR, tax exempt status.

And therein is part of my rub; both the Mormon Church (and other so-called religious organizations) and the NFL are tax-exempt. Why? Both have spent MILLIONS of dollars lobbying and advocating politically – the Mormon church has FAMOUSLY worked against equality in state after state, funding hate groups and homophobic and anti-woman legislation. Why a tax pass?

Here’s my homosexual agenda: Every Group Pays Taxes. No Tax Exemptions for ANYONE for ANY REASON. So-called “religious” organizations are treated no differently than any other corporation in my new world, and all corporations are taxed at the same rate as individuals. Flat. Tax. Period. On. All. Income. Done. No write-offs. NONE.

Hate comes in many guises, and the most dangerous of those are the ones who hide behind “Oh, what if a man pats my butt” moron-think – and since when did football players become so delicate of sensibility anyway? – and the smile of a purportedly loving grandparent who is actually a promoter of hate and inequality.

Hate comes in the form of those who seem to be well-meaning, who you know and who claim to love you, who then, at a point when you’re not getting along or disagreeing about something – life – love – whatever – resort to homophobic code-words and trope in effort to slander or discredit you (and I include other gays in this who use code talk, slut shaming, innuendo, etc to slur and slay other gays). Hate comes in the form of those who love you but still will say, “Well, I don’t see why it has to be marriage – couldn’t you just have domestic partnerships and leave marriage for men and women? I think that’s what the bible says and I’m sorry, I’m religious. You can’t be mad at me for having my faith.”

Yes. I can. Your faith is – sorry to tell you – a patriarchal construct based on what I consider to be a group delusion and fantasy, long propagated by those in power to control the peasants. It’s not an excuse for denying me my rights or justifying your bigotry.

We need to shine LIGHTS on these haters who are EVERY BIT AS BAD as those who carry the nasty signs and use the slurs. At least those out and out bigots admit their hate and are up-front about it.

Leave a Reply

