. . . don’t count on me . . .

You’ll never see any scars or wounds / I don’ walk on coals / I won’t walk on water / I am no prince / I am no saint / I am not anyone’s wildest dream / But I can stand behind and be someone to fall back on /

Some comedy / You’re bruised and beaten down / And I’m the one who’s looking for a favor / Still, honestly / You don’t believe me/ But the things I have are the things you need/ You look at me like I don’t make sense / like a waste of time / like it serves no purpose/

I am no prince / I am no saint /And if that’s what you believe you need / You’re wrong /You don’t need much /You need someone to fall back on

And I’ll be that /I’ll take your side /If I’m the only one I’m used to that /I’ve been alone /I’d rather be / The half of us /The least of you /The best of me

And I’ll be you prince /I’ll be your saint / I will go crashing through fences in your name /I will /I swear /I’ll be someone to fall back on /I’ll be the one the one who waits /And for as long as you let me /I will be the one you need /

I’ll be someone to fall back on

 

Leave a Reply

