Zeitbite Tuesday … I can’t blog, don’t ask me …

I really need to spend LESS time blogging and more time working on other writing projects.

As soon as I typed that I was self-snarked and taunted with the question, “Why? Who says?”

You know, I don’t know. After all the energy I have spent trying to de-program myself from being a slave to cultural assumptions about fame (you’re not a writer unless you are published in hardback by Knopf which is really Doubleday owned by Random House owned by Bertelsmann and – see, well, it’s all a huge corporate game, right? It’s not like the legendary “literary world” of which I dreamed) and economics and sex and every and anything else … still I think, “GET PUBLISHED IN HARDCOVER!”

Lol. So hard to escape the brainwashing and the zeitgeistian MUST SHOULD DO NOW YOU FAIL ALWAYS BE THIS BE THAT BE ANYTHING OTHER THAN CONTENT IN WHO AND WHAT YOU ARE.

I do want, however, to be read. And I am. (AND I THANK YOU FOR THAT) But, not by tens of thousands. My blog numbers are growing but I’m not viral, hell, I’m not even a germ.

Nonetheless, I PROMISED myself I would keep this under 500 words today. Because I do have to do my 1500 words and get to the gym (although during my web-trolling today I saw this and determined – ONCE AGAIN – I really need to find the gym where the cool boys go)

gym boys

and finish the novel I’m reading

SHOVEL READY by Adam Sternbergh - so good so far!

SHOVEL READY by Adam Sternbergh – so good so far!

and make dinner for everyone

nutribullet

Started BACK on healthy eating yesterday, I am IN LOVE with this NutriBullet blender – it makes spinach shakes you can actually enjoy.

and watch President Obama give The State of the Union tonight.

I know, it's President Obama and First Spouse, Michelle, but I LOOOOVVVEEE Michelle so much.

I know, it’s President Obama and First Spouse, Michelle, but I LOOOOVVVEEE Michelle so much.

So, only a few zeitbites.

I can’t blog because … after I read this article in New York Magazine (the only magazine to which I STILL subscribe, which says something since I used to have fifteen magazines regularly delivered) called What is it About Middlemarch by Kathryn Schulz (CLICK HERE TO READ – really, CLICK HERE because the column is KICKASS!), I was overcome by that uncontrollable GET THAT BOOK hard-on. Now, I have that book – but it’s somewhere in storage and I don’t know how long it would take me to find it and so … yeah, at 2a.m. I was downloading three different Kindle samples to see which version to buy (although there is a free one, but, I’m capitalist brainwashed and am sure that one would suck) or if I REALLY needed a hardcopy in which to note my oohs and ahhhs of pleasure, appreciation and new insight.

I can’t blog because … crap, I only have forty words remaining. Okay. Done. Follow me?

Leave a Reply

