… the new york chronicle … prologue …

I want to share details about my whirlwind-one-day trip to New York City – well, more accurately, to a 20 block chunk of Manhattan in which is concentrated the Broadway theatre and tourist trade – however, in the last 36 hours I have had a total of about three hours of sleep and my brain is not anywhere close to writing mode.

Alas, neither is my mind anywhere close to shutting down enough from the glories of the NYC trip to segue into sleeping mode.

My pal and genius, loving, amazing Christmas gift-giver, Cody and that's me - the old one with the COOL glasses - having after show-pre-show dinner at Sardi's in NYC.

My pal and genius, loving, amazing Christmas gift-giver, Cody and that’s me – the old one with the COOL glasses – having after show-pre-show dinner at Sardi’s in NYC.

So, having returned to my house-sitting, dog-loving gig (which my sister took over for 24 hours so I could visit NYC) and unable to sleep, I had just spent the past hour vacuuming and starting laundry (sheets and towels and such, a good house guest CLEANS and erases him or herself before he or she leaves!) and settled into my reading chair with Alan Gurganus’ “Local Souls” (as recommended on NPR and boy am I loving this so far, HOW have I never read his work before?) when there came from the basement “apartment” a guest I did NOT know was there! The girl who lives there – who I knew had left for work pre-dawn this morning – had invited someone else over (I guess the extra car outside should have been a hint) and she came toddling up and out, probably no less surprised (well, she MUST have heard the vacuum) to see an elderly man crotchety-curled in a chair, hugging a book and a cup of Earl Grey tea, than was I to see a jeaned, hoodied, young woman traipsing through!

The shock isn’t going to help me sleep. But, who can sleep after seeing two of the VERY BEST Broadway shows I have EVER seen; a few lovely meals; the horrors of the Marriott “evolved” Algonquin (I have documentation of the ruination they have perpetrated); the fabulosity of being stopped on the street by a beautiful woman and told my glasses were really cool; and all the Manhattan energy?

But, I will sleep – eventually – and after that I will write in detail about the trip – and revel in it having been a thoughtful, touching, wonderful gift from a dear friend (and don’t let me forget to tell how the two of us managed somehow to wear almost identical outfits – by accident) – and how amazing it is to again, as in my childhood with my dear Aunt, have someone know and love me enough to “take me” to New York when – so often in life – I have been the one doing the taking – and – well, in any case, until then . . . thanks for checking in . . .

One thought on “… the new york chronicle … prologue …

  1. Pingback: … zeitbites … Friday, January 3, 2014 … who needs hookers now that CraigsList exists? | herewearegoing

Leave a Reply

