… hiatus … hi … ate(the)US … or it feels like it …

Well, I am now far out in the country with my buddy, Judah. I should be getting ready to drive myself into town for an hour or two on treadmills and ellipticals to try to undo all the eating I have done in the past week (or two) but I am – instead – reading and resting. And Judah is enabling me.

Judah and I have ABOUT the same energy level. But we both WILL get up for treats.

Judah and I have ABOUT the same energy level. But we both WILL get up for treats.

I had NO IDEA how exhausted I was until I started falling asleep on the drive out here yesterday. I make it sound as if I trekked cross the tundra or something, when, in fact, Boonsboro is only really 20 minutes of beautiful drive from Frederick. Often – on bad traffic days – it takes me longer than that to get across town to the gym. Still … it SEEEEEEEMS like a long way out here.

And once I arrive, it FEEEEEEEELS like a long way away. In a good way, a good long, peaceful way away. Judah was happy to see me and after a few hours of his regular strolls to the window to check for the return of his immediate family – and my assurances (along with regular bribes of new Christmas treats he’d received) they would be back soon but in the meantime we’d have a quiet bacchanal, he ended up on the couch with me while I “read” – which lasted about five minutes until I fell asleep.

I gave up the reading thing and started watching a “Pushing Daisies” marathon. Or, actually, sleeping. Then catching up on season two of “Girls” or, well, sleeping. Until finally at 9:30pm I gave up and went upstairs to bed to read. Or, sleep. Judah and I got up at 1:30 and 4:30 to go out (and have a treat) and then, finally, at 7:00ish we got up for good.

And I am STILL tired. As, apparently, is Judah.

Judah is waiting for the late morning constitutional and the requisite after-treat.

Judah is waiting for the late morning constitutional and the requisite after-treat.

The holidays – wonderful as the opportunity to stop for a moment, to change gears, to – have a day off? – are rough, stressful. All the cooking and the gatherings and the should see and must see and must do and family – who – nice as they are – still – bring back all the patterns of childhood (and adulthood?) and the past and any unresolved issue or rarely pushed button – and one ends up being whirred and stirred and whorled and – well, it is tiring.

And, I’m going on a whirlwind trip to New York on Sunday – 24 hours of bus rides and two Broadway shows and finally braving the Algonquin Lobby to actually witness what Marriott did to it . . . so, I need my strength. So, I am going – I think – to just follow Judah’s example and stay HERE – where I am NOT going anywhere … except back and forth to the Keurig and refrigerator and the treat counter. I am – I guess one could say – taking a hiatus – as in, “Hi, I feel like I ate the whole of the U.S. and now I’m going to rest on this couch for a week or so!”

Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

