… what WHAT WHAT?!?!?! ….

Listen, I need a date.

merrilyrollTurns out that the West End reworking of Stephen Sondheim’s “MERRILY WE ROLL ALONG” is a one night only Fathom event being shown in cinemas around the country. There is one near me. It is happening next Wednesday, October 23, and I need someone with whom to attend.

I just DISCOVERED this was happening late last night. I don’t know HOW I fell this far out of loops that I didn’t know about it before.

I also read today that THIS FRIDAY there is a private reading by invitation only of a new version of Stephen Sondheim’s “COMPANY” in which Bobby is a gay man and some of the roles have been gender-revised. Including Joanne. Which is my role. And which is being played by Alan Cumming in the reading. And too, Bobby Steggert, of Frederick, where I live, is involved in the reading too.

Reading about these things took me back to a long ago production of “COMPANY” in which I played Marta; and a not quite as long ago production of “MERRILY” I directed; and the Raul Esparza “COMPANY” I saw on a solo New York birthday trip and how the day after I sat next to its Joanne, Barbara Walsh, who happened to be from Maryland and had gone to college with people I KNEW and saw daily; and the filmed “COMPANY” Fathom Event with Patti LuPone as Joanne and Neil Patrick Harris as Booby that I saw with a good friend during a sad, scary summer once upon a time and by the time I was done being awash in all these memories … welll …

Something is seriously wrong with my life – all this Sondheim happening and I’m – well – not.

Leave a Reply

