… a cold … i blame the cats … adventures in house-sitting and holiday reading …

Well, I did return to the gym yesterday evening. Two trips in one day. The truth about the second trip is that I felt myself coming down with a cold. Runny nose, sneezing, pressure in my ears. I thought, maybe – just maybe – I could sweat through it and sauna it away. Alas. Did. Not. Happen.

Now, another truth is: I almost NEVER get sick. Never have. So, I am not complaining. Once upon a time, when I smoked, I used to get bronchitis – debilitating bronchitis with a spine-misaligning, wall-rattling hacking that lasted for weeks – but, I haven’t had that in – well, a really long time. I also, a few years ago, started having periodic bouts of vertigo, the first of which made it impossible for me to walk or close my eyes or recline without vomiting – but, after a few lesser recurrences, that too passed.

So, yes. Very healthy. Very lucky. And so I had to ask myself: HOW THE HELL AND WHERE THE HELL DID THIS RIDICULOUS NOT EVEN SEPTEMBER NOSE RED AND RUNNING SNEEZING LIKE A FOOL COLD COME FROM?

Well, of course; there can be but one explanation. CATS.

Bone Season Kitty

Yes, I HATE CATS. The musical and the animal. It has been my experience that cats are haughty and nasty and secretive and deceptive and tricky and just generally piss on what’s important to you when they don’t get their way – or – just are in a bad mood. Come to think of it, that pretty much describes – in my experience – the people who like cats as well. (Not you A(sq)- and sorry – but you won’t read this for two months anyway … so …).

Now, truth (that pesky thing again) is. these three here – the three cats I am watching here at this beautiful home I am inhabiting while its owners tour the continent –

(BITTER ASIDE: They’re in Italy, eating real Italian cuisine and enjoying Italian men (which are wasted on both of them – the men, NOT the food, the food they’ll LOVE – I’m eating Wegman’s takeout)

-whilst I am here with their two wonderful doggies, Tess and Gwennie, and these three not quite as awful as usual cats. (Sorry, to me cats are always just tomorrow’s special at the local Chinese place that was cited by the health department lately- so I don’t bother to learn their names.)

And, the one in the pic (you can see I have chosen the “next holiday weekend book” to which I referred in prior post) likes to sit right by my head as I am reading (or binge watching television) and so – OF COURSE – it makes sense, the damn thing gave me a cold.

Which is why I am up at 6:30 in the morning, blowing my nose and being snotty (hahahaha – shit – do I have a fever?) and just generally being pissed off about my holiday weekend being upended by a kitty.

OUT DAMNED CATS! OUT! cat mean

Leave a Reply

