Friday Rants … Positivity a sham (told you so); STEREK is losing! VOTE!; Ebersole to be on COVEN!; PROJECT RUNWAY! rules; and…

Well, well, well … it took eight years for a graduate student to recognize the bogus math in a study on “positivity”. Barbara Fredrickson’s work has been cited THOUSANDS of times as evidence in support of one or another of those new-agey-social-psychology-pop-self-help-medically-tinged-load bullshit theories about the power of happiness and good-attitude with which we are CONSTANTLY bombarded, and which, if one is LESS than sunny all the time, serve to make one feel not only LESS THAN but, too, GUILTY and LAZY for being less than POLLYANNA SUNNY 24/7.

HA! I say, HA! Read it here in The Daily Beast.  And while you are at it, read this related article about THE BULLSHIT POLICE.

Sterek 2And while you’re clicking around, do me a favor: CLICK HERE and go to THE BACKLOT, and vote for Sterek in the SLASHMADNESS event. I am on a life-quest to get MTV’s TEEN WOLF to ship Stiles and Derek. Some people call me crazy – but I am FILLED with POSITIVITY that I can make the impossible happen. I mean, some people believe in some sort of – you know – god – that is in charge of everything; why can’t I believe Derek and Stiles can become a couple? IT’S A FREAKING T.V. SHOW ALMOST ENTIRELY BASED ON HOMOEROTIC SYMBOLISM – LET THEM FUCK!

And while I’m on television; yesterday my idol – Ryan Murphy – announced in an interview with DEADLINE (click here) that CHRISTINE EBERSOLE is joining this season’s AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN. WHAT THE FUCK? As Wesley Taylor said on TWITTER: “MERRY CHRISTMAS GAYS!”  (P.S. If you haven’t watched WesTayTay’s webseries: IT COULD BE WORSE, you really REALLY should. CLICK HERE! He is one of my current pretend boyfriends. HE WAS ON SMASH TOO!) Just take a look at these AHS teasers!

I have LONG worshipped Christine Ebersole (which is DIFFERENT than SHIPPING Derek and Stiles) – I first saw here DECADES ago on the late, lamented soap opera, Ryan’s Hope; and then, too, as Guinevere in a tour of Camelot when I was living in California, and then, well, the day she became a goddess: in the musical GREY GARDENS, which I saw SIX times.  Her delivery of “Another Winter in a Summer Town” – well – JUST WATCH IT (a million times).

Yes. I saw the show Six TIMES. And I am not ashamed. Including the FINAL Broadway performance (a Sunday matinee) which ALSO happened to be the same day that Patti LuPone gave her final performance of the “concert” version of Gypsy at City Center – before the full revival – and I was also THERE for THAT. Yes, that was a BIG GAY DAY – I’m surprised my heart held out.

In any event – and speaking of my BIG GAY HEART – last night was Project Runway night. I am unabashedly, unashamedly, unrepentantly, IN LOVE with this season. Last night was a crazy explosion of bickering and bitchiness and I would have LOVED to have seen that nasty piece of work, Ken, get his ridiculously self-aggrandizing ass kicked off – but alas – crazy, new-agey, gorgeous Sue was lost to us. I think if only she had had the prescience to repeat to Heidi the line Ken spouted about “I don’t design for 40 year olds” – as if 40 year olds belonged in Madame Tussaud’s or something – SON OF A BASTARD! And, P.S. Ken, the use of the word “highly” in every other fucking sentence as adjective and adverb reveals you to be just the sort of under-educated poseur idiot you ARE. GO HOME!

Speaking of GOING HOME – yesterday I was interviewed by an arts project consultant (or something like that-and he’s from New York City and has his offices in THE EMPIRE STATE BUILDING – of course I hated him – while I loved him) about what I think are the needs for the arts in Frederick – and in particular, what I think ought to happen with the McCrory’s Building, the old Cultural Arts Center. I did NOT hold back. I’m not going to go on about it here, but I think it is a RIDICULOUS shame that a town this size is suffering the dearth of decent theatre and training that it now is when once upon a time it was a very active incubator for companies and talent – coming and going and growing – and now is reduced to so few companies and venues, and, really, only one of those companies has any vision at all. There are so few directors (let alone producers) in this town with ANY courage or ORIGINALITY – it makes me sick –

OH WAIT – I said I wouldn’t go on. So, I won’t. But – I am planning now on winning the MegaMillions (or the miracle of getting one of my “bankable” projects Coke Buildingpublished and selling the film rights – see “POSITIVITY” section above) and buying the old CocaCola building on North Market Street and turning it into a theatre/ theatre & music school/ literary-poetry slam salon/ bookstore/ NY type-Algonquin-lobby-esque cabaret/cafe-hangout – so watch out, bitches – this bitch is coming back.

And I’m going to open with GREY GARDENS. And I JUST MIGHT play Little Edie MY OWN DAMN SELF. I would ROCK this number.

 

One thought on “Friday Rants … Positivity a sham (told you so); STEREK is losing! VOTE!; Ebersole to be on COVEN!; PROJECT RUNWAY! rules; and…

  1. Too much upon which to comment, so will only say this: you would totally rock that number (a song I listen to religiously, by the way.) Love you.

Leave a Reply

