…2nd post of the day…GYPSY again – I am MAMA ROSE – but where’s my fucking fur coat? zeit-bite RANTING…

As everyone knows (and by “everyone” I mean the three people who still give a flying fuck about me) (and by “knows” I mean I have told the story so goddam many times that I THINK everyone knows it but, actually, who the hell ever really listened to me – turns out mostly people were just PRETENDING to listen when  I had some power to cast them) “GYPSY” is one of my very favorite musicals.

GYPSY

Briefly; it was the first professional show I EVER saw, the tour starring Miss Angela Lansbury, to which my precious aunt, Sissie, took me repeatedly. I later in life saw productions starring Donna Migliaccio, Bernadette Peters, and Patti LuPone, and I twice directed the show – both of which were colossal failures. It is best we not talk about the filmed versions featuring Rosalind Russell and Bette Midler.

Now, Signature Theatre in Virginia – where I have seen some of the most wonderful productions of my life – is doing “GYPSY” again. I got the e-mail today. They announced that Sherri Edelen (who I love) will be playing – wait for it – MOMMA Rose. Uhm, Signature, home of Sondheim, WHAT THE FUCK? IT IS MAMA ROSE.

(HOLY MOTHER – I JUST WENT TO SIGNATURE SITE TO LINK – AND “GYPSY” IS OPENING ON DECEMBER 17 – WHICH IS MY AUNT SISSIE’S BIRTHDAY!?!?!?! WHAT THE HOLY ALL THAT IS HOLY MOTHER OF HOLY WEIRD COINCIDENCE SYNCHRONICITY WEIRD SHIT GOING ON IN MY LAST EIGHT MONTHS!)

I cannot believe it. In any event; here’s my favorite MAMA Rose – even though I didn’t actually see her in person – Betty Buckley. (Don’t start with me, J.)

Not that I don’t love this one:

…because it reminds me of the years I spent doing this song in one after another mirror in one after another place I lived…and believe me, “Rose’s Turn” – not without some real resonance in my life – only none of those bitches ever gave me a fur coat – and I’m still waiting for my turn after plenty of “one fucking quick look as each of ’em leaves you.” Yep. Sometimes, not even that, although usually, plenty of slander after the fact.

Leave a Reply

