…the second Sunday of June…

The second Sunday of June is a huge day for me, a day when an anxious, eager audience sits in a theatre watching many performers grace the stage with performances and thank yous, sharing gifts, making magic, celebrating the year (and years) gone by.

SpringAwakening_FINAL_V2

It weighs on my mind today because this is the anniversary of a beautiful event in my life, the opening night of the first U.S. amateur production of the musical, “Spring Awakening” of which I was the director. It was a magical experience. When first it was suggested to me that I return to directing, to having anything to do with theatre, I said what I thought was an unequivocal no. I kept saying no until I said yes.  It was the right choice. The cosmos blessed the production, a glorious group of people came together, cast, crew, support team, to become a collection of people we came to call “Team Love & Light.”

At that point in my life, I no longer much believed that I would ever again find it in myself to trust people, let alone love people. I had been sorely disappointed by the ways in which past trust and love had turned out. But Team Love & Light gave me faith, embrace, and in a strange twist of truth, the courage to know that leaving theatre and the life I had led in theatre arts behind, was, in fact, the right path for me to follow. “Spring Awakening” was a gift from the cosmos, a gift of being able to say on a loving, light-filled note, “Good-bye.” I could not have asked for a better final curtain call.

And so today, I am thinking of that, remembering it with great rushes of joy as I contemplate next Sunday, that second Sunday in June. In some ways it is difficult for me that I am not in the audience nor on the stage. But one makes choices. Life is what it is. And though I will not be there for the magic nor the gifts nor the thank yous, though I will be invisible, unlikely to be mentioned or seen, still, I will, as I do every year, be watching it with my friends, my own little portion of Team Love & Light, enjoying, weeping, and celebrating the Tony Awards.

Leave a Reply

