song of the day…we need a little…glitter…and gayness…

I’ve got a very busy day – which means I have more than one thing to do or place to be throughout the twenty-four hour period. I’ve a long post in my head (not through my head, haha, which would explain a lot) but I don’t know that I will have the time to coax it into ejaculating from my brain onto the page nor the energy to carefully manipulate it into something resembling a reasonable entry.  So….

It’s been a long, difficult, scary, shocking, weird week. My birthday was great but, you know, bad enough that it falls on the day Lincoln was shot, the Titanic sunk, and taxes are collected (is it any wonder I sometimes self-pity myself into counting ME as another disaster from the second week of April?) without having added all the shit this week added. And I need a lift. So, I look to – uhm – Liberace? Hahahaha.

Image

Michael Douglas as Liberace and Matt Damon as his pool boy (sort of – man I want a pool boy) in HBO’s (and Cannes featured entry – WTF?) bio-pic, :BEHIND THE CANDELABRA”

Now there was a man who knew how to glitter (although, perhaps, not so much how to be gay) and I am happily anticipating the new HBO film, “Behind the Candelabra”  starring Michael Douglas and Matt Damon about his life.

First of all, any opportunity to see Matt Damon in a Speedo (or less) is something not to be missed, right? I still have fond memories of “The Talented Mr. Ripley” I mean, you think Affleck hung around all these years just because they were bromancing? I should say not!

Image

Matt Damon’s ass. Will you be my pool boy?

So, the film has now been chosen for exhibition at Cannes! Well then . . . here’s the trailer. Enjoy!

But, I digress, and risk missing my first “must be there” appointment of the day. So, away. But before I go, I leave you with this advice, GLITTER AND BE GAY . . . and if you’ve never heard the aria from Leonard Bernstein‘s “CANDIDE” (wow, this could be another long post about its history and lyrics by Dorothy Parker AND Stephen Sondheim!) then – do yourself a favor and get the Barbara Cook original cast version. However, this is a visual medium, so I leave you with … well, at least Patti LuPone is in it too (too briefly) but – there we are and so, my darlings, I leave you. Sorry. (Gee, it’s nice to be the one pulling away, for once!)

Patti LuPone and and another; GLITTER AND BE GAY

One thought on “song of the day…we need a little…glitter…and gayness…

  1. My brother suggested I might like this website. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!|

Leave a Reply

